Asia Foundation and Galing Pook Foundation Host Good Governance Forum in the Philippines

Manila, July 8, 2011 — On June 22, The Asia Foundation and the Galing Pook Foundation hosted the “Scaling Up Best Practices in ARMM [Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao]” forum to highlight best practices among the Galing Pook Award winners. Launched in 1993, the Galing Pook Awards recognize innovation and excellence in local governance and give grants to organizations in the Philippines. In 2010, The Asia Foundation and United States Agency for International Development (USAID) implemented the awards specifically for the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao.

At the forum, participants discussed best practices and replication strategies in areas, such as peacebuilding, infrastructure development, education, policy support, and budget reform. Local chief executives from ARMM, civil society organizations, Asia Foundation experts, and national government agency officials from the National Anti-Poverty Commission, Office of the Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process, Department of the Interior and Local Government, Department of Health, and ARMM Regional Board of Investments attended the forum. Read more about the Galing Pook Awards here.

The Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao is one of the poorest regions in the Philippines, aggravated by armed conflict, poverty and weak governance. The Asia Foundation has launched programs in ARMM to improve practices in local governance, promote transparency and accountability, reduce poverty, and enable local governments to achieve a more robust and sustainable economic growth.

Read more about the Foundation’s programs in the Philippines here. For media inquiries, please visit the Press Room.

Related locations: Philippines
Related programs: Conflict and Fragile Conditions

Read our latest news, or insights from our blog.

Media contacts

Amy Ovalle, Chief Communications Officer

Eelynn Sim, Associate Director


2017 Lotus Leadership Awards

Attend our award event October 12 in New York

Learn about the Lotus Circle

2017 Lotus Leadership Awards

About the Lotus Circle