Winter 2013

Briefly Noted: Asian Ambassadors Series

The Ellsworth Bunker Asian Ambassadors Series is a dinner series hosted by The Asia Foundation since 1996, named in honor of statesman Ellsworth Bunker (1894-1984), who served as Ambassador to India, Nepal, and Vietnam, among other posts during his long diplomatic career. The Asia Foundation recently hosted the Honorable Sadako Ogata, senior advisor to Japan International Cooperation Agency and Senator Richard G. Lugar, Ranking Member, Senate Foreign Relations Committee, in Washington, DC:

Hon. Sadako Ogata

The Honorable Sadako Ogata, former president of Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) and United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, and current senior advisor to JICA, was The Asia Foundation’s special guest speaker this past September in Washington, DC, at its 25th Ellsworth Bunker Asian Ambassadors Series. A distinguished diplomat and academic, Mrs. Ogata is one of Japan’s best-known and longest-serving public figures. In recent years, she has played a vital role in assuring international support for the reconstruction of Afghanistan. At the dinner, Mrs. Ogata praised The Asia Foundation for its work in advancing development in Asia and for its longstanding commitment to the region, spanning nearly 60 years.

Senator Richard G. Lugar

The Asia Foundation and Indonesia Ambassador to the United States Dr. Dino Patti Djalal honored United States Senator Richard Lugar, Ranking Member of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, as featured speaker at the October dinner   series at the Embassy of Indonesia in Washington, DC. Senator Lugar has been one of the most prominent and crucial voices on foreign policy issues for decades in the Senate. He has been a long-time supporter of The Asia Foundation, and of development and democracy in Asia. He is well-known known for his contribution on one of the most critical issues of our time, the effort to limit the threat from weapons of mass destruction through the Nunn-Lugar Cooperative Threat Reduction Program, named for the co-sponsors of the legislation, former Senator Sam Nunn and Senator Lugar.