Skip NavigationMenu

Awards Dinner Honoring Secretary George Shultz and Dr. Oyun Sanjaasuren

Event: Tuesday, September 10, 2019, San Francisco

Leaders on the Frontlines: Mobilizing Changemakers for our Sustainable Future

6:00 pm I Reception
7:00 pm I Dinner

Julia Morgan Ballroom | Merchants Exchange Building
465 California Street, 15th Floor, San Francisco

A special dinner honoring

Dr. Oyun Sanjaasuren
First President, UN Environment Assembly
With the Chang-Lin Tien Distinguished Leadership Award

The Honorable George P. Shultz

Former U.S. Secretary of State
With the Lifetime Leadership Award

Featuring the 2019 Asia Foundation Development Fellows

Master of Ceremonies

KQED’s Mina Kim

The Chang-Lin Tien Distinguished Leadership Award recognizes prominent Asian leaders for a lifetime of achievement in government, business, and academia. The Award is named in honor of the late Dr. Chang-Lin Tien, former grantee and chair of The Asia Foundation’s Board of Trustees, and chancellor of the University of California at Berkeley, who is widely respected for his accomplishments in science, higher education, and U.S.-Asia relations. Learn about past awardees.

The Asia Foundation Development Fellows program brings together exceptional individuals who are shaping Asia’s future. Twelve emerging leaders are selected each year to join a vibrant community of changemakers working on the frontlines to address the region’s most pressing development challenges.

Fellowship Sponsors

The Chong-Moon Lee Foundation

Visionary Sponsors

Walter Jared Frost
Stephen & Maria Kahng
S. Timothy Kochis & Penelope Wong
James & Diana McCool
Clint Reilly
Suzanne E. Siskel & Peter Gajewski

Inspirational Sponsors

David D. & Sherry Arnold
L. Brooks & Laura Entwistle
Alex & Laurette Hartigan
Chien Lee
Janet & Thomas Montag
Kook-hyun Moon
Masako Shinn
Judith F. Wilbur
Songyee Yoon

The Latest Across Asia

Change Starts Here Campaign Impact

Thank you for powering The Asia Foundation’s mission to improve lives and expand opportunities.