Election Working Group (EWG) member organizations: Association for Community Development; Action on Disability and Development; Banchte Shekha; Bangladesh Center for Development Journalism & Communication; Bangladesh Development Society; Bangladesh Manobadhikar Sammonny Parishad; Coast Trust; Dak Diye Jai; Democracy Watch; FEMA; Institute for Environment and Development; Gono Kalayan Sangstha; Green Hill; Gono Unnayan Kendra; Jagoroni Chakra Foundation; Khan Foundation; Lighthouse; Mass-line Media Centre; Manabik Shahajya Sangstha; Nabolok; National Development Program; Noakhali Rural Development Society; Palashipara Samaj Kallayan Samity; RDRS Bangladesh; Right Jessore; Rupantar; Shariatpur Development Society; Solidarity; Srizony; Uttaran and Wave Foundation.

Technical support for the operation of a national secretariat; Grant and technical support to 33 member organizations for the design of program activities, implementation guidelines, training materials, and posters and pamphlets on six core voter and civic education themes (election violence prevention, democratic representation and accountability, first-time voters, women’s electoral rights and political participation, electoral rights and security of religious and ethnic minorities, and electoral rights and participation of disabled persons); Monitoring the pre-election environment; Conducting monthly public perceptions studies on the state of democracy during emergency rule; Raising public awareness on the voter registration process.

Project Year: 2008