Leaders on the Frontlines

Thursday, October 12, 2023

Julia Morgan Ballroom, 465 California St, San Francisco, CA
6:00 PM Reception | 7:00 PM Dinner


Thai man with pony tail gazes into the distance across a river

Niwat Roykaew
Chairman of Chiang Khong Conservation Group and Director of Mekong School’s Institute of Local Knowledge

The Asia Foundation’s 2023 Chang-Lin Tien Distinguished Leadership Award is presented to Niwat Roykaew in recognition of his tireless community advocacy efforts to protect the ecosystem of the Mekong River and community livelihoods.

Thai man with pony tail gazes into the distance across a river

Nancy Pelosi
Speaker Emerita, United States House of Representatives

The Asia Foundation’s Lifetime Leadership Award is being presented to Nancy Pelosi for her commitment to working with global partners to advance a healthier, more sustainable, and equitable future for all.

Keynote speaker

Charlotte Pera
Vice President and Deputy CEO, Bezos Earth Fund

Charlotte Pera has focused her 30+ year career on clean energy and climate change. Before joining the Earth Fund, she served for nearly nine years as President and CEO of the ClimateWorks Foundation.


Young Asians stand in front of waterfall

Proceeds from this event will sustain Leadership and Exchanges programs like the Asia Foundation Development Fellows. This program provides emerging leaders from Asia and the Pacific an unparalleled opportunity to strengthen their leadership skills and gain in-depth knowledge of the region’s critical development challenges. The year-long professional advancement program draws on the Foundation’s extensive 18-country network and local expertise working with innovative leaders and communities across the region.

Special Guests

Thank you to our generous sponsors





To learn more about sponsorship opportunities and benefits, please contact John Robinson at [email protected].